In this section

We thank individuals who have made significant contributions to the profession either locally or in a dietetic specialism. This takes the form of the Ibex, which is an honour for Professional Achievement.  

How to nominate someone for an Ibex

Nominations for the Ibex Honour should be made to the Honours Committee on the nomination form below and supported by at least 5 signatures of Full Members of the Association, or by a decision of a Branch, a Specialist Group, or a Board of the Association.  

Nominations will be considered all year round, but must be submitted by 20 March for that year's Awards Dinner

The individual concerned should not be approached or be made aware of the nomination.

All nominations received will be acknowledged by the Honours Committee. If necessary, the Honours Committee will seek clarification or amendment. The nominee will be notified directly if the nomination is successful.

Nominators should provide evidence to support the nomination under the following headings. The nominee will:

  • shown personal commitment and significant contributions to the profession of dietetics over a minimum of 5 years
  • actively participated in the work of the Association at a Regional, Branch or Specialist Group level 
  • worked to promote the highest standards in the science and practice of dietetics
  • given outstanding service to the profession

Please download the Ibex Nomination Form and email a completed copy to

The BDA Board of Directors will make the final decision on conferring all Honours at its May meeting at the latest (except the Roll of Honour, which is considered throughout the year). The discussions will be confidential and no further correspondence will be entered into. Successful nominees will be informed, following which a notice will appear in Dietetics Today. Honours will normally be presented at the BDA Awards Dinner or another appropriate event if this is not possible. 

To ensure nominations are fully considered by the Honours Committee and by the BDA Board of Directors, please submit all nominations by 20 March at the latest.