Trust Awards

The Trust Fund has a long history of supporting the science and practice of dietetics through the promotion of national awards which recognise the excellent work carried out by many members.

The Rose Simmonds Award

Rose Simmonds began her dietetic work at the London Hospital in 1925, as Sister in charge of Grocers’ Ward, a group of small wards for metabolic research, with a ward kitchen and laboratory attached.

She was a great supporter of the nurse as a dietitian and brought to the work of dietetics in those early beginnings, a profound knowledge of human nature gained on the wards, a keen mind and powers of observation, as well as a love of her work.  Dietitians who followed her acknowledged a great debt to her for the stamp she laid on the new profession.

Rose Simmonds was a founder member of The British Dietetic Association and at the inaugural meeting on 24 January 1936 at St Thomas's Hospital, London, was elected onto the Executive Committee.

The Trustees award this prize for the publishing of a piece of work in a peer reviewed journal. Previous Award winners are:

The Elizabeth Washington Award

Elizabeth Washington entered dietetics by working and studying in an established dietetic department, the only route for graduates at that time.  She became Chief Dietitian at University College Hospital, London and managed to keep the department in being during the Second World War. She became involved in large scale catering and eventually took a post at Leeds as organiser of school meals.  Subsequently she was appointed Chief Catering and Dietetic Adviser to the Department of Health and Social Security in 1950.

She was the BDA’s Honorary Secretary for much of the war years and one of the eleven members who subscribed to the original Memorandum of Association.  She was Chairman for three years in the 1950’s and served for many years on the Education Committee. She was awarded the OBE when she retired in 1971. She left a sum of money to the association in her will, members added to this in her memory and the Trustees are awarding the prize this year for a student or recently graduated dietitian’s published work or resources within the field of education or research.

The Dame Barbara Clayton Award for Innovation

Dame Barbara Clayton was, for many years, the Honorary President of the BDA. However she was an inspirational medical practitioner and was instrumental in changing the way lead was considered a pollutant as well as leading research into micronutrient needs for children and older people. She was appointed to a professorial role at Southampton University and chaired several expert committees for the government. She was regarded as a pioneer within medicine and nutrition and was a great supporter of the BDA until her death in 2011.

The Trustees award this prize to recognise innovation and excellence in dietetic practice.

The Elsie Widdowson Lecture

Elsie Widdowson CH CBE was a pioneer in the history of dietetics and, along with Robert McCance, carried out research for around 60 years. They pioneered many aspects of the understanding of human nutrition throughout the 1930’s and 1940’s. They are also well known for undertaking much of the experimentation on themselves, including starvation diets. Their work was of vital importance during the years of the Second World War and led to the publication of The Chemical Composition of Foods.

The BDA launched an annual lecture in her memory in 2001. Previous recipients of the award include Dr Susan Jebb, Professor Annie Anderson and Professor Anne de Looy. Lectures are given on any topic that the recipient wishes and attract considerable interest amongst the profession at key note events. Each year Council invites one senior members of the profession, who is deemed to be at the pinnacle of their career, to deliver the lecture.

How to apply

Entries for 2018 are now open. Please visit the BDA Awards page to apply.