Your BDA Council

Who BDA Council member are

BDA Council members are responsible for the strategic leadership of the BDA, agreeing major policy, managing the Association’s finances and representing the membership. All Council members are elected into their different roles by the wider membership and, with the exception of two roles reserved for a dietetic support worker member and a dietetic student member, all Council roles are open to full BDA members. 

Hear from past and present Council members about why they chose to represent the wider membership in these vital strategic roles, and what they do in their positions - Council quotes.

What BDA Council do

There are at least 16 Council members who meet around five times a year, with varied and diverse portfolios of work. Council updates provide a snapshot of the main discussion areas from the meetings, alongside more detailed Council meeting minutes available for BDA members to view. Should you wish to find out more about the work of BDA Council, please contact the BDA office.

Meet your BDA Council

Click each picture to find out who your BDA Council are, what attracted them to join Council, what they do in their strategic volunteer roles, and how they got to where they are today. 

Sian O'Shea - honorary chair Caroline Bovey - Chair Elect Pauline Mulholland - Honorary Treasurer Kate Hall - Honorary Secretary vacancy - Chair of Communications Board
Fiona Moor - Chair of Education Board Steven Grayston - Chair of Professional Practice Board vacancy - Chair of Trade Union Board Chris Cachin - Council member without a portfolio Ellie Claxton - Support Worker Representative
Caroline Bovey - Wales Constituency Council Member Amanda Squire - Deputy Wales Constituency Council Member vacancy - Chair of England Board vacancy - Deputy Chair of England Board Emma Langan - student representative
Joyce Thompson - Scotland Constituency Council Member Debbie Provan - Deputy Scotland Constituency Council Member Claire Holmes - Northern Ireland Constituency Council Member  vacancy - deputy Northern Ireland Constituency Council Member  Alan Kershaw - Lay Member

Updated 14th June 2017.