Specialist Group of the Year Award

The Specialist Group of the Year Award recognises and highlights the immense work that the volunteer members give to Specialist Groups in developing and supporting the profession. It was launched in 2013 to thank volunteer members for their enthusiasm, commitment and time given to their Specialist Group. It is also a great opportunity for Specialist Groups to celebrate and highlight all the fantastic work that has been achieved. 

Specialist Group committees are asked to submit a nomination, this is judged by a panel of BDA Council members and the Award is presented, on an annual basis, at the BDA Awards Dinner.

2018 Award 

Deadline: 11th May 2018

The nominations are now open!   

We are calling for all Specialist Group committees to consider nominating for the Specialist Group of 2018 Award.  The deadline for nominations is 11th May 2018 and the Award will be presented at the BDA Awards Dinner on the 19th June 2018 in Birmingham.

Nomination form and criteria.

The three shortlisted Specialist Groups will be announced on 1st June 2018 and a complimentary invitation to the Awards Dinner taking place on the evening of the 19th June will be sent to the shortlisted Groups.

Specialist Group of the Year 2017

Congratulations to Freelance Specialist Group

The Freelance Specialist Group were awarded Specialist Group of the Year at the BDA Awards Dinner on the 4th July 2017 in Birmingham. Congratulations to the committee on their recognition for all of their hard work and time dedicated to making the Specialist Group a success.

The judges were impressed by the group’s tireless work to advance the profession and innovative way that they supported and promoted the role of freelance Dietitians across the UK. The group showed innovation in their communication methods, growing their membership and worked to adapt their popular ‘Starting Out’ course to reflect feedback from members.

Their communications techniques went beyond the norm, including the use of social media and webinars to offer members support, updates and valuable networking time. The group forged strong links with external organisations, exhibiting at several conferences and trade fairs, as well as facilitating a BDA branch event.

Congratulations also goes to the two shortlisted Specialist Groups:

Previous winners


Kate Hall and Harriet Williams

Renal Nutrition Specialist Group.

Shortlisted: Mental Health Specialist Group and Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition Specialist Group


1Critical Care 2015 Ruth, Karen, Natasha and Fiona
Critical Care Specialist Group

Shortlisted: Mental Health Specialist Group and Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition Specialist Group


Group of the Year NAGE (Older People) 2014
Older People Specialist Group (formerly NAGE)

Shortlisted: Obesity Specialist Group and Renal Nutrition Specialist Group


Food Counts l-r Maxine Cartz, Sian Burton, Helen Davidson, Helen Ream
Food Services (formerly Food Counts)

Shortlisted: Obesity Specialist Group and Paediatric Specialist Group